ListenLarger documents may require additional load time.


Geography. 2016. Lexile Measure: 660L.
Full Text: 

Continents are the largest landmasses on Earth. Earth has seven continents. From largest to smallest, they are: Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe, and Australia.

Europe and Asia together are called Eurasia. Russia has land in both Europe and Asia. Russians think of Eurasia as one continent rather than two. Turkey is also in Europe and Asia.

North America and South America are connected by Central America. All the lands of the Western Hemisphere together are called the Americas.

Islands are usually considered part of the continent that they are closest to. For example, Greenland is an island north of North America. It is considered to be part of the North American continent.

Many islands are not part of any continent. Some examples are New Zealand, French Polynesia, and the Hawaiian Islands.

The continents are very different in size. Asia is at least five times larger than Australia. The number of people who live on each continent also varies. Asia has the largest population. Antarctica has the smallest. There are no permanent residents in Antarctica.

In Asia the city with the largest population is Shanghai, China. In Africa it is Lagos, Nigeria. The city with the largest population in Europe is Istanbul, Turkey, and in Australia it is Sydney. North America’s largest city is Mexico City, Mexico, and South America’s is São Paulo, Brazil. The largest city in Antarctica is McMurdo Station.

Each continent has a different number of countries. Africa has the most with 54. Europe is next with 47. Asia has 44, North America has 23, and South America has 12. Australia is one country. There are no countries in Antarctica.

Source Citation   (MLA 8th Edition)
"Continents." Geography, Gale, 2016. Kids InfoBits Presents. Kids InfoBits, Accessed 13 Dec. 2019.

Gale Document Number: GALE|BYVTTW853079951