Who really cares? Introducing an 'Ethics of Care' to debates on transformative value co-creation.

Citation metadata

Publisher: Elsevier B.V.
Document Type: Report; Brief article
Length: 258 words

Document controls

Main content

Abstract :

Keywords Ethics of care; Transformative value; Values; Transformative Service Research (TSR); Food poverty Abstract This paper introduces an "ethics of care" lens to the literature on Transformative Services Research (TSR) to understand how service users and providers co-create transformational value and well-being. In considering six food poverty organizations--categorized as market-oriented, faith-oriented, or neighborhood-oriented--the authors argue that the intention behind enacting an ethics of care drives different possibilities for transformative value. The analysis is organized in line with Tronto's (1993; 2001) phases of caring, and makes connections between values that drive the organization's work, emerging subjectivities, practices that unfold as a result, and ultimately the value that is co-created. The findings show that caring relations must be considered "in situ," as an organization's values and practices are what determine the potential for transformative value. Author Affiliation: (a) University of Liverpool Management School, Chatham Street, Liverpool L69 7ZH, UK (b) Department of Marketing, Birmingham Business School, University House, Birmingham B15 2TT, UK (c) Durham University Business School, Mill Hill Lane, Durham DH1 3LB, UK (d) Director New Vic Borderlines, New Vic Theatre, Etruria Road, Newcastle-Under-Lyme ST5 0JG, UK (e) Department of Sociology, University of Surrey, Guildford GU2 7XH, UK (f) Newcastle University Business School, Newcastle University London, 102 Middlesex Street, London E1 7EZ, UK * Corresponding author. Article History: Received 15 February 2019; Revised 24 June 2020; Accepted 26 June 2020 Byline: Elizabeth Parsons [eparsons@liverpool.ac.uk] (a,*), Treasa Kearney [tkearney@liverpool.ac.uk] (a), Emma Surman [e.l.surman@bham.ac.uk] (b), Benedetta Cappellini [benedetta.cappellini@durham.ac.uk] (c), Sue Moffat [smoffat@newvictheatre.org.uk] (d), Vicki Harman [v.harman@surrey.ac.uk] (e), Klara Scheurenbrand [klara.scheurenbrand@ncl.ac.uk] (f)

Source Citation

Source Citation   

Gale Document Number: GALE|A648491628