Follow-up at two years of age and early predictors of non-compliance in a cohort of very preterm infants

Citation metadata

From: Early Human Development(Vol. 108)
Publisher: Elsevier B.V.
Document Type: Report
Length: 434 words

Document controls

Main content

Abstract :

To access, purchase, authenticate, or subscribe to the full-text of this article, please visit this link: http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.earlhumdev.2017.03.001 Byline: Claire Mas [claire.mas@chu-reunion.fr] (a,*), Patrick Gerardin [patrick.gerardin@chu-reunion.fr] (b), Emmanuel Chirpaz [emmanuel.chirpaz@chureunion.fr] (c), Magali Carbonnier [magali.carbonnier@chu-reunion.fr] (d), Corinne Mussard [corinne.mussard@chu-reunion.fr] (b), Sylvain Samperiz [sylvain.samperiz@chu-reunion.fr] (a), Duksha Ramful [duksha.ramful@chu-reunion.fr] (a) Keywords Follow-up; Compliance; Preterm infant; Development; Attrition; Sequelae Highlights * Sustainable follow-up of vulnerable infants remains a challenge in routine care. * Socio-economic and early neonatal characteristics influence attrition. * Identifying early predictors for attrition may improve developmental follow-up. Abstract Aim To examine the rates of follow-up at two years of age and perinatal factors associated with non-compliance in an observational population-based cohort of very preterm children enrolled in a routine follow-up program. Method Data review of infants born between 2008 and 2012 in the Observatoire de La Grande Prematurite, Reunion Island cohort. All singletons born alive before 33 weeks of gestational age and resident on the island at two years of age were included. Patients were considered compliant if they were timely evaluated between 20--28 months of age, or non-compliant if they were not evaluated or evaluated after 28 months of age. Results Of the 802 survivors (mean gestational age of 30.3 [plus or minus] 2.0 months, mean birthweight of 1364 [plus or minus] 396 g), 468 (58.4%) were examined between 20--28 months, 119 (14.8%) after 28 months of age, and 215 (26.8%) were never evaluated, respectively. In multivariate analysis, factors associated with non-compliance were higher parity ( 2), past history of preterm delivery, maternal diabetes (preexisting or gestational), appropriate for gestational status, and centre of birth. Conclusion Sustainable follow-up of vulnerable neonates remains a challenge in clinical practice. Early predictors of non-compliance can be used to define individualized and local follow-up strategies in these infants at high risk for developmental disabilities. Abbreviations BW, birth weight; CNIL, Commission Nationale de l'Informatique et des Libertes; GA, gestational age; NFU, neonatal follow-up program; NICU, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit; OGP, Observatoire De La Grande Prematurite De La Reunion; SD, standard deviation; SGA, small for gestational age Author Affiliation: (a) Neonatal and Pediatric Intensive Care Unit, Felix Guyon Hospital, CHU de La Reunion, 97405 Saint-Denis Cedex, La Reunion, France (b) Pole Femme Mere Enfant, CHU Reunion, Saint Pierre, Reunion, France ; Centre d'Investigation Clinique (INSERM CIC1410) Epidemiologie Clinique, CHU Reunion, Saint Pierre, Reunion, France (c) Unite de Soutien Methodologique, Centre Hospitalier Felix Guyon, 97405 Saint Denis Cedex, La Reunion, France (d) Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, CHU Reunion, 97448 Saint Pierre Cedex, Reunion Island, France * Corresponding author. Article History: Received 12 September 2016; Revised 12 January 2017; Accepted 3 March 2017

Source Citation

Source Citation   

Gale Document Number: GALE|A521404163