The Ricardo Vines Piano Music Collection at the University of Colorado at Boulder

Citation metadata

Date: Dec. 2004
From: Notes(Vol. 61, Issue 2)
Publisher: Music Library Association, Inc.
Document Type: Article
Length: 19,260 words

Document controls

Main content

Article Preview :

Ricardo Vines (1875-1943) was a Catalan pianist who carefully amassed and cared for a substantial library of published and manuscript music. Because he was a leader in premiering new music during the years from 1900 to 1930, his library is rich in works from this period. In addition to being remembered for his remarkable technique, Vines is recalled today primarily as a champion of the piano works of his French, Spanish, Russian, and South American contemporaries. As noted by John and Anna Gillespie, Ricardo Vines "would have had a brilliant virtuoso career had he not ardently and actively promoted modern music.... Despite an indifferent, sometimes hostile public, Vines waged a lifelong crusade for contemporary music, repeatedly playing new music which no other pianist would even think of performing." (1) His music library reflects the large number of composers, both well-known and forgotten, who sent their music to the pianist in hopes of having it performed.

After Vines died in 1943, his music collection--including manuscripts, autograph dedications, and inscriptions--was scattered by his family. The bulk of his library, 836 pieces, was purchased by the University of Colorado at Boulder (CU) in the mid-1950s. Unfortunately, after the purchase it was divided up as a "seed" collection. The purchase has recently been reconstructed as the Ricardo Vines Piano Music Collection and is now located in the Howard B. Waltz Music Library. This article provides a brief biographical sketch of Vines, describes the history and reconstruction of the collection, and highlights its contents. A list of selected holdings in the collection describes some of the most significant pieces individually, including those bearing inscriptions, dedications, and the pianist's markings. Finally, a listing of all the composers represented in the collection is provided.


Ricardo Javier Vines y Garcia Roda was born in Lerida (Lleida), Spain, on 5 February 1875. In 1885, he became a student of Juan Bautista Pujol in Barcelona. At the suggestion of Isaac Albeniz, his mother brought him to Paris to study in 1887, where he enrolled first as an auditor, then as a full-fledged participant in the Paris Conservatory class of Charles-Wilfred Beriot. (2) There he met Maurice Ravel. The young composers, who were born the same year, may have first met through their Spanish-speaking mothers. (3)

Vines quickly became one of the foremost members of Beriot's class, and was invited to perform his teacher's own works--including a February 1893 performance of a piece he identifies only as "the second movement of de Beriot's concerto," with the composer playing the orchestral reduction. (4) This was probably the Second Piano Concerto, op. 46, judging from a heavily fingered copy of an early publication of that work in the University of Colorado collection. (5) In March 1895, Vines also performed Beriot's Sonata for Two Pianos, op. 61, at the Salle Pleyel with Beriot as the other pianist. (6)

Vines was an autodidact--probably a consequence of a pedagogical system in which young students were given little other than a musical...

Source Citation

Source Citation   

Gale Document Number: GALE|A126236860